powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
6:55 a.m., Jul. 04, 2005

Happy independence day! :)

Been really busy - I guess that's the refrane of all my entries lately. Well, things are going okay, Mike is still in process of job search but it looks more promising - he got couple interviews lined up. The thing is, I dont want him to grab the first thing that comes his way - this is a career change for him and I want him to find a job in a place where there's long-term potential. So that's worth a good search.

I saw my future car on the road while driving yesterday. Well, I'm afraid it's a "remote future" car - so here's a little preface. Toyota was my first car and it was by far the best performer of them all - even though I was a terrible driver when I started and I smashed that car several times, it withstood and was still running several years later on like 170,000 miles - the car used to be my mom's and she had it for like 7 years. That was a Corolla. But I digress. So after that I had a Mitsubishi - the worst car possible - that one, I bought off my brother who was looking to buy another one, and Mitsu was only 3 years old when I got it, but it really sucked - shortly after I got it it started having all those weird problems and well... fixing them was a pain in the rear. While Toyota never needed even one fix in all these years (I mean functional fix, not the ones where I bent the bumper...). Then Mike and I started dating - I still was driving the Mitsubishi, and well his car was some really rustic old car, which looked like it came out from teh 60s movies... But shortly after we became serious, Mike's grandma passed away and he inherited her car - which was a Ford, and he got it basically brand new. It was 2 years old but grandma only went out like 3 times on it, so the mileage was close to zero. So we did a switch - I got the Ford and Mike is driving Mitsu now. Well, I figured my job actually required driving while he worked from home! - so it was only fair that I got a newer car. So that's where we are now. And I honestly think that once Mike starts driving to work, the Mitsu will totally die. It now barely lives, actually :) - but Mike kind of knows how to fix it when it stalls, while I don't.

But lately I did start thinking about a possibility of owning a new car - I never owned a brand new one. Of course now we are so not in the position to buy one, not even funny! But I think once Mike gets a decent job and we'll figure our lievs out... then it will be time - I doubt Mitsu will live another 2 years. Based on my experience and that of my mom, who also owns a Toyota, I've long ago decided that my next new car will be a Toyota as well. But which one? I kind of got sick of Camrys b/c everywhere you go u see Camry.... best seller, I guess. But a bit boring! I am certainly not a van girl, not even a mini-van girl - I can't imagine being one of those moms who lug this huge gas eating car around, which is full of crackers crumbs and just random kid stuff inside. So I decided I need a car which would possibly have slightly more space than ur regular car, but which would look cool and sporty. I also had a very specific color in mind - it's that shiny gray color, kind of like this stone that I have a necklace made of, and the name of the stone escapes me for the life of me! So yeah, I have lots of specific requirements. Anyway... I was driving yesterday and I see this perfect car in front of me - perfect shape, perfect size, and even my perfect color! So I look at the manufacturer logo on teh back of the car - and what do you know, it's Toyota! I almost jumped out of my seat. So I kept behind the car and looked closer at the next light - and apparently the car that I like is called Toyota Matrix. Never heard of that brand before. So I went on Toyota website, apparently the model is fairly new, first ones came out in 2003. And it's very moderately priced - for the model I picked out it was only like 17K - that's not bad at all! And yes it comes in my fave color, it's got all the standard stuff in it, and I read some reviews - ppl say it's a great deal for a cool looking car, which also doens't consume gas in enormous quanities. There were couple minor negativities as well, but I thikm overall this is it. Well the funniest part, I was walking with Gabriel late last night and I saw that same exact model parked in one of the streets nearby, only in silver color instead of gray. So I called Mike and he took a look - he liked it too. So he was like - when we're ready for a new one. .. we'll check it out.

Again, I guess it's not going to happen any time soon, not before we straighten out our finances, but .... a person can dream, right? ;)))

Otherwise - going to BBQ at Nikka's, and taking Gabriel with us. It's going to be an advanture :)

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next