powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
11:02 a.m., Jun. 29, 2004

So how do I get out of this one? Obviously the whole 4th of July weekend is coming, and it's already totally booked. On Friday, we're going to this concert/picnic. It's really neat, there's a place where they play nice classical music, and at the same time there's a huge field where ppl just set up, light candles, eat dinner, and listen to music - so you don't really get to see the musicians (unless u buy places right up front) - but they have dynamics all over so u can hear very well. So it's like picnic with music. It's just going to be my parents, us, and Nikka, my best friend. So, of course, no doubts, there will be wine, and we'll be drinking to something, like good russians we are ;) How do I decline the wine, since everyone knows I love to drink ;) and especially in such situation. Then on Sunday, Nikka's parents are doing BBQ, for 4th of July. Guess what - wine galore! Again, with traditional toasts and the whole deal. How do I get out of this one?! The thing is, I am determined to keep my pregnancy secret until my birthday party which is in 2.5 weeks. There's no way I want anyone to know before. But declining alcohol is a pretty obvious gesture, right. Plus my best friend knows we're "trying", so it won't be too hard to guess. My parents don't know, b/c I didnt let them know (they would be too pushy and ask me every day - are u pregnant yet ;) - but they may guess as well. So it's very uncomfortable.

The reason I am so adamant about birthday party is for several reasons - number one, at that piont I'll be at 10 weeks, with G-d's help, so will feel a bit safer about the whole thing. Number two, I want to make it a point for everyone to find out at the same time. People are so petty, which actually pisses me off,but it's like if my mom finds first then my best friend will be like - how come I wasnt first. And vice versa. And then it will be a big russian vendetta when no-one will talk to no-one or whatever. So to avoid all complexity I invited all my family, all Mike's family, and hopefully when majority makes it I'll just tell it to everyone at the same time, so no hard feelings. Of course then certain people will be offended they werent first to know, but whatever, I don't care!

So anyway.. It's quite a dilemma. I've never was known to decline red wine, and it will sure raise eye brows. Perhaps I'll accept it and then somehow make Mike drink it... I don't know. As George Costanza put it, why there must always be a problem?! ;)

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next