powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
8:38 p.m., Oct. 09, 2000

It finally happened! I got the JOB!!!!

How funny is that! And the funniest thing - it's not the company I work in now. I had an interview for sports magazine yesterday, I actually really liked the place. They seemed nice, very casual, to the point, no bs questions that HR likes to ask so much (what would u do if...) - I showed my portfolio, they asked questions, and that's that. However, since they got my resume off my school, it's entry level they said and the $$ range they said the salary is kind of shocked me by being extremely low. Their highest # was lower than what I'm making now, if that's an indication! So I wasn't too optimistic. The girl who interviewed me said call her on Tuesday. Well what do you know - I get a call today and she's like my boss told me to go ahead and make u an offer today! I was like - wow. She goes and since u do seem to have quite a bit of corporate experience - we're offering u the highest # of our range. Highest # of the range was about 2K off of what I am making now but that's not 9K off! The thing is though, company pays only 30% of benefits which is lousy. So I kind of say - what about benefits, how much actually will I have to pay out of pocket. She said well it's not terrible, blah blah but if u r so concerned my boss said we're willing to go about 1K above the original offer, so I said okay. So my salary will be only 1K less than what I m making now and that's that!!! How's that for negotiation skills :)

The best part - the job actually sounds cool, they are a company that owns 3 different sports magazines and I am going to do ads for them!!!! Yes! She said it's not all glamor, sometimes it's just taking something old and plopping it in, but of course there's fair amount of design too. And of course, hands on experience in the industry. I am totally thrilled!!! :))

As a huge bonus, a company is owned by a jewish family - so certain jewish holidays such as yom kippur is a paid day off, so no worry about taking days off and all. Nice to work in understanding environment :)

So, for all the readers of this journal who are probably sick of me constantly writing about my job searches fiascos - it's finally over! :) (Now the house search begins.....)

My best freind was like - thank G-d, it's over (of course jokingly). She's super happy for me too - especially because my job is all but 10 minutes away from her job - so lunches together seems like a possible thing. This would be awesome.

Happy happy joy joy. Starting October 20th!

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next