powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
11:18 a.m., Oct. 25, 2003

Life is a weird and wonderful thing... Instead of writing a whole entry about what happened, I'll just copy a letter that I've wrote today...minus names. I think that'd explain everything. I feel actually truly happy the way things turned out!

------------

October 25, 2003

Mr. W:

I would like to give you some feedback regarding my employment with your company.

This certainly was not my first job, I've had experience working for large corporations before I got my degree in graphic design, and I have never experienced treatment equal to the one I received in your company.

I found it discouraging from day one that no one gave me time of the day to get me acquainted with the specifics of my position; I realize that both T. and I were new, and perhaps you were hoping that I somehow magically would know what I'm expected to do by watching another employee who has been with the company for a week himself. My understanding was that J. was supposed to train T. and I, and I tried my best to get information from J. on many occasions, but I kept on getting rebuffed by her, due to her being busy. It's understandable that this is a work environment, and things need to get done; however, a right thing to do would be to set up an hour or two for training and actually give your employees a clear understanding about the way the company expects the work to be done. Instead, I was left to my own devices, and of course made mistakes, and wasn't even given benefit of the doubt that maybe I simply do not know yet what do you consider right, since ultimately all the ads go through your final approval.

I found it unethical that the feedback regarding my work wasn't given to my face neither by you nor J., and that you chose to inform me by firing me. I think that the way I was fired was unethical as well, considering that there were several people present in the room while E. was letting me go. It requires elementary tact to realize that while you may fire an employee, they are still a human being with a right to dignity and proper treatment.

As with everything in life, I consider my termination from your company a blessing, as working in such an ugly environment would not be good for me, and ultimately people around me - not to mention the unbelievable mess you keep your company in, very little chances for growth, and virtually no benefits to speak of.

I wish you the best in your future endeavors, and I hope that whomever you get to replace me will get a better treatment from you and your company.

Sincerely,

M.

-------------------

To this I only may add that this was the first time ever I got fired from the job. Another addition to my life experiences.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next