powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
8:35 a.m., Oct. 23, 2003

Lots of stuff is going on.

Started my job on Monday. What can I say. It's not bad - but not jumping of joy either. Reasons? Well, I guess I am a spolied girl - I'm used to working for big corporations. This is my first job in a small one and boy... world of difference. Baiscally, no one gives u time of the day to explain what's going on! While in big co's huge part of it was *training* - never underestimate its importance! - here you're kind of thrown into it and expected magically to do it right. Sure I got a supervisor but she's so swamped (it's a magazine after all!) that I feel bad nagging her constantly. But the real complexity is, the company is a family business, currently owned by the son of the founder. But while officially company now is on the son's name, the father is still very much kicking, and every ad we do has to go thru his approval - he basically has to okay everything. He has just about 0 sense of design - his idea of good design is when every inch of space is filled! So no white space at all - it has to be all huge letters and ugly fonts - bu tfill the space. So much for design and beauty :) But I can't complain, overall ppl are nice and perhaps I'll feel different in a month, juts slightly overwhelmed at the moment.

Also we made an offer on a house we liked yesterday! It's contingent upon us selling our condo so I hope this will wokr out... but we're totally psyched, the house is great, and taht's taht.

Well, got to work! :))

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next