powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
11:05 a.m., Sept. 13, 2002

So the jewish holiday of Yom Kippur is near. It's basically when you pray and fast the whole day, it's this Monday. And normally, my best friend and I go to this synagogue, where we went when we were in high school. Now, I have this religious friend, the one that Mike and I visited couple months ago. She's extremely religious, and even more so conservative. I called her because we wanted to stay over for Yom Kippur (not to travel twise, for night and day services). And she never fails to amaze me, with being so unpredictably stringent in certain things. So she asked me whether Mike is coming with us, and I said no, he's not religious. She knows it btw. And all of a sudden, she goes into this speech, how she's surprised I'm going without my husband! I was like.. um.. we're not in ancient times here, my husband and I are two separate people who sometimes do separate things. She is like, yeah, I guess you're LIBERAL. It sounded so disapproving, but I barely could hold myself from laughter. Liberal couple we are, spending a whole day apart! :) So to shock her even more I said that Nikka and I (she knows Nikka very well too, obviously) are actually going to Las Vegas soon, just two of us! She said in desperation, why aren't you taking your husband with you! I was like, well, b/c my husband has been there already with his best friend, and we couldn't go together because of my school. She just said well, I would think you want your husband to be with you! I was like - yeah, we do travel together, we love each other, we go places, but sometimes we do things separately, we don't depend on each other that way. It was just too weird for her to comprehand. To go somewhere without your husband! Just reminds me why I gave up orthodox judaism. Very sad, in a way. She can't take a trip alone, ever - how strange is that.

But anyway, I am always happy to see her, overall she means well, her kids are very sweet, and after all, we all have our own trip in life, and who am I to say that hers is worse than mine. Just sometimes she still manages to shock me. :)

On another subject, school is almost over! Next week is finals, which is somewhat hard, but then it's over! Two weeks vacation, and then back again. I can't wait to graduate though. Not too long left. And we've made a decision that we'll try for the baby after I get a decent job with insurance (to cover that event). So if all goes well, perhaps next year. Sounds so mature and grown up. Time certainly just flies.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next