powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
2:41 p.m., Sept. 02, 2003

Well, no news so far. Not that I�m surprised. I hate being pessimistic considering how good that interview was last Wednesday, but if they wanted to hire me they�d call in the morning.

I don�t know � in my darkest moments I wonder whether this whole graphic design degree was a good move in my life. Yes I enjoy it, I think I could be really good at it if given a chance, and it�s certainly something I have aptitude towards� but it is just so damn hard to find that job. I don�t know anymore if giving up the security of the company I used to work for � and still work for as a contractor now � was a good idea. The money was good, the job was okay � it had its crazed moments but I was comfortable, I didn�t really hate it � I only hated the double load of the full time job and school. Benefits were super, everything. And now � now I just feel like everything hangs on such a thin thread. No matter what Mike tells me, I think that postal job of his takes more and more time, he�s working like crazy �he also is making decent money � but stock research? forget it! These days, 8:30-9 p.m. is his regular bed time- and I totally understand, he gets sooo tired. But anyway � he is planning to get some sort of palm pilot and do his stock investing at work. Bottom line is, I don�t believe he can pull off both, and obviously this long time ago when the decision was to quit my job, neither of us had any idea how terribly hard this past year is going to be for us, financially and all. And it seemed totally logical � and I was able to finish my degree in that year � but now I wonder if it was a mistake, if this whole thing was a mistake. Yes, being an admin my whole life would of sucked, and I really do want graphic design but from what I hear � I got couple of e-mails from people who graduated with me � some of them didn�t even get 1 interview yet!!! � which of course could be their own lack of interest, but this still says something to me. This industry is probably always was tough, but right now, with such a terrible job shortages all around, there�s almost impossible to get through. Even for me, and I always considered myself to be enthusiastic and my corporate experience is certainly a plus � and still, not enough to get a job. So I don�t know what to think anymore. Maybe I am totally over-reacting and they still will call and all will be okay, but it is just so exhausting to wait by the phone like that. Specially when HR tells you how good you are, etc, and how they really are going to make their decision within next 2 days - then what, just wait till last moment specially to torture your candidate? Great.

Anyway. I don�t really know what I�m saying. Just feel somewhat despondent.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next