powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
11:41 a.m., Aug. 19, 2002

We went to this baseball game yesterday. It was my first (and hopefully last!) time. Mike's uncle - the incredibly rich (and very nice! - rare combination) guy - won a raffle for a skybox which seats 12 people, plus - gasp - $2000 worth of food service! I'm not joking. But when you look at the menu, one can of beer costs $23 - so it makes sense. So picture this - incredible view, tons of food (hotdogs, chicken wings, vegetables, all kinds of drinks, including wine and Bailys irish cream, and huge variety of desserts). And the game, which to me made just as little sense as Chinese alphabet. No, Mike did explain me the rules in the car. And I know that a highlight of the game is when a dude hits that ball and then runs. But me, a girl raised on good old soccer, just simply can't comprehand how people can seriously gather, and root for bunch of guys who just hit a ball with a bat. I mean, it's one thing where a guy got to be really athletic, run around, try to capture the ball from bunch of other agressive guys, and then also score a goal! That's a sport! Anyhow... I wasn't impressed. The view was magnific though, and the food was way too good, Mike and I are seriously dieting now - both of us, mind you! - and we hanged out with Mike's family which was nice. Actually we got the tickets only because Mike's cousin, the one who hosts terrible parties, was out of town. But I don't care if we're second choice, it was fun, besides if I see only one such game - it better be with best conditions! :) And I got that.

Also we found out some great news - we're going to have another nephew or niess! Mike's sister is expecting her third! I'm pretty excited for them, they're a sweet couple, and besides, perhaps we'll get some practice with a newborn baby - for a future reference :) I mean, I got some experience with toddlers and up, but I never really handled an infant. So might as well learn.

I don't know... I think that it would be so peachy if I was 25 now. Why 25? If I was 25, i would graduate at 26, and then have at least another 2 years before having a kid. But I'll graduate at 29, which is great, of course, but at the same token, it's so much pressure, because I must have my first child before 30. They say the chance of complications increases almost twise after 30, but if you had your first before, you're fine. I just read it the other day in the bookstore (one of those pregancies books). Which puts us on a very tight timeline - I do not want to be pregnant while in school, but then when I graduate next June, I'll be a month short of 29. So here's the dilemma: if I find some marvelous job with my new degree, do I go in, and get pregnant immediately? I think this is a little tacky. I mean, if I stayed with my company, it wouldn't be such a problem because even though I'd switch departments, I'd still have 3.5 years of tenure. But going in to a brand new job, and then getting pregnant and going immediately on maternity leave... I don't know. Then if I just put everything on hold after I get my degree - well, then what was the point? I mean, even technologies change, and in anotehr year or whatever, they'll come up with Photo Shop 10 or something, and I'll have to re-learn it all. I don't know. Mike says to stop freaking out, and sit down, and figure exact dates and times for when we would have that baby. But I'm worried.

I am extremely phobic when it comes to operations. I.e., I have never had any operation where they'd have to cut me, in any fashion. I never had appendix, or anything else which would require stitches. And I am super scared to ever go through such a procedure. Therefore, I'd like to do whatever I can to avoid C section. Actually my biology teacher kept on saying that when picking a doctor for delivery, you must specify that you'd want natural birth. He said that doctors in general prefer C, because it's easier for them, than work with you to deliver a baby normally. But I think there shouldn't be no reasons why the healthy - and still relatively young! - me wouldn't be able to give birth normally, if everything is fine. But the point is, Mike's sister had her first at 32. She had a C - and I don't know whether it was beacuse she just opted for an easier option, or because there really was some complication. Her second was a C as well, and this one, they already planned a C section delivery. She's 36 now, and the stats go that at that age, there's a huge chance of complications for mother and/or child. So they prefer not to risk. But i think that if I pull off my first naturally, then my others should be just fine. So, I'm very ambitious.:) But I feel very time-pressed. Career versus childbirth, how's that for a dilemma!!!

Anyway... my class is about to start. Got to run!

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next