powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
2:04 p.m., Jun. 25, 2002

It feels really weird to not have to go to work. It's a great feeling, but somewhere in the back of my head I have this piercing thought - what if I've done something wrong?

Im not worried about money. My hubby makes enough, and I also have enough of my own savings not to feel like I'm being a burden. We have no kids, so really all our expenses is my tuition, and living expenses. I got my medical insurance settled today, and also changed my last name officially. :) - stood in line forever at that social security office, and still am to change my drivers lisence. Anyway, I guess my insecurity came because yesterday I spoke on the phone with his mom, which apperently didn't even know that I was quitting! I hardly talk with her, and he didn't bother to tell her - so she asks how was it coming back to work after your vacation and I was like..um.. I don't work anymore. So then she started to get all worried. And she's a great lady, I really like her. But what Mike does for living is highly extraordinary and she (and most of his family) still can't get over that he actually can make money. So in her eyes me quitting my nice and stable job was a mistake, I suppose, even though she would never say this to me. And immediately I felt guilty and insecure, like it's somehow my fault. But then I talked to him and he calmed me down. He said his mom actually is probably pretty supportive of me, and she knows that both of us could get a "real" job if pressed. But I just hope that ppl don't hate me too much for living my life a bit better, and not killing myself with both school and work, which is so so tiring. We've discussed this at length, and I wouldn't go into it, unless we were financially secure. So that's that.

So, I promised in one of my other entry to give a brief description of ppl in my life. If anyone actually reads this diary, perhaps it would be useful.

Mirik - that's me. A pet version of my real name :) I'm 27, a future graphic/web designer, also a writer and a musician :) As of last week, have no job, so just in school full time.

Mike - my hubby, we just got married 2 months ago. He's really cool, got the coolest job in the world that allows him to work from home. He's also an absolute whacko, but in a good way. Love him very much.

Nikka - my best friend. We met each other in highschool, and been friends ever since. She's cool, an unbelievable cook, and just a great person to hang around. Very extremely sarcastic.

Randy - Mike's best friend. Sci fi obsessed, he's like a mad collector. His house is full of toys, pretty much he's a big kid.

D.G. - a friend of mine from several years back. Tried to date me but I said no - he is an unbelievable schauvinist, and just in general, he has a better fasade than he's acually inside. But if you deal with the fasade, you'll sure have fun - this guy knows how to be entertaining and interesting.

D. - biggest love of my life (or should I say crush?). Well, actually it's not entirely true b/c I love Mike, but he certainly used to be someone super special for me, and to some degree still remains. Lives in a different country.

K. - my (now ex) co-worker. I don't know if she will remain in my life, but she sure is a piece of work! Your typical never-read-a-book-in-my-life type of girl.

Stacie- my COOL friend. She used to work with me (and we had a blast), then she moved because of a guy and now she's marrying him! Proving that sometimes u got to make drastic decisions for LOVE and it WORKS! She has a bit of that rockstar glamour to her - tall thin blond, blue eyes, and at the same time very laid back and cool :)

W.E. - an awfully cool guy from my ex work. Read an entry entitled "W.E. and life" for more description. Highly intelligent, highly unusual man. Handsome too ;)

And I think that sums it for now. There are also my parents, his parents, my brother, his sister.. but they aren't that big in my daily life, and I'll refer to them as parents :)

So that's all.

Ciao.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next