powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
9:41 p.m., Jun. 02, 2002

Yeah so why am I so frustrated again? OK here it goes - first little marriage problems ;) Well, nothing big per say, but very very irritating! It's the whole "who must do what" thing. I guess I was brought up in somewhat militant way, i.e., if asked something to do (within a reason) - I just do it. I don't know how to explain.. if there's a task to be done, and if someone says hey do it, instead of arguing or thinking about how hard it is to do, it's sometimes easier just to get it over with. Well, Mike has this really fragile state of mind ;) where it's like if I ask him something to do, in his mind it's a Chore, with capital C. And it's not that he's not helpful, or supportive - on the contrary, he cleans very well, knows how to cook better than I do, can fix things and put nails in the wall, he's very handy. But sometimes he has this thing, where he gets stubborn like a camel over something very small(while doing much harder things in a whim!). So, we are a bit late in getting pictures to our videographer (she asked for our baby pictures to include in a video). And today, finally, we got pictures together and all, and he said he'll drive them to her b/c it's on the way (he was going to do something else around the area). So I said ok, great, just give her a call, to make sure. All of a sudden the boy just goes bezurk - why do I have to call, why can't you call, I am not one of your mignons! ;) I was like.. ok, psycho. So for the rest of the time he was at home I kind of avoided talking to him. I know it's immature and childish, but at the same time I feel this all is part of the same issue - Mike and his "chores." If u place someting broken in front of him, he'll fix it because he feels it needs to be fixed. If I say hey Mike please fix it, it could stay at the same place for a while b/c it's a "chore". To me, this is absolutely immature and ridiculous, the way he (and I guess, some other men) percieves responsibility - god forbid if he's asked to do something, it puts "stress" on him. My best friend calls him "his majesty" for it :) But I mean, he does help, he does it all - it's just getting him to do things is ridiculously hard b/c he has to get mentally ready to do things. While for me, instead of thinking oh my god I have to do something - i just go and do it! Grrrrr.

So after he left, being as pissed as I was, I went to his tool kit, got some nails and a hammer, and put some pictures up - we got a nice picture frame to put our ketuba (marriage contract, traditional in Jewish ceremonies) in, and it has been there a month, and of course, being a huge chore that it is, he couldn't just do it. So, it took me all of 10 minutes and now it hangs on the wall, not even crookedly! :)

I know it's all silly and petty, and we'll make up and all, but I just want to make a point. The more he behaves like a child, the harder it is for me to ask him to do things b/c I prefer some peace of mind and keep my nerves in tact than go through this every time.

So that's that. But we did have a major party yesterday, for all "adults" (parents) and "young ppl" (our friends), since we just got our floors done, and it was a huge motivation to tidy things up. The place looked great, everyone drunk a lot, and was happy. So all in all, things are OK.

Going to finish making chicken (one of the very few things I can do) - oh yeah, what a CHORE. :)

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next