powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
5:23 p.m., May. 14, 2002

Gosh what a craziness! So all that venting about job got me to where I never thought I would be - I'm quitting!!!!!

To make long story short summer schedule just came out in our college and they really cut on classes - guess no one wants to teach during summer! - so for me to get my 4 classes per quarter (which is a must if I want to graduate by target date) - I'd have to take Mon-Wed nite class, two classes on Tue-Th, and one Saturday class! So Mike was like - when will I see you then? Taking a saturday class in the summer ensures that our whole summer is screwed up (he's right of course). And he also said what good will it do to our marriage if u r in school every nite and doing homework when u're home.

So... he asked how many classes I have left, then made several calculations and concluded that with the way our finances stand now we're able to put me through school and get us health insurance without me having to work.

It still was a tough decision to make. It took advice from 7 different people to convinse me it was a good idea to quit. It's an issue of independence and identity and u name it - here Im a cool girl with a job, and suddenly Im back to a "student" status at 27! But as Mike said, only you can get over your insecurities. Even if people say things (such as oooh she just got married and quit her job!) - you shouldn't care b/c we are a team. He's so smart sometimes ;)

I wouldn't go into this if I didn't trust him. Besides it's not like I'll have to beg him for money, I still have account on my name and enough money for "life" (e.g., movies, outings w friends, and other niceties). He'll just take care of bills such as school tuition and phone. But it's only for another year and then I'll get much better job so from that perspective I think it's a wise decision, I'll have much more sanity, our relationship will be better, etc.

And oh my god, I'll have time to exersice, write my story, and just live my life instead of having no life, like it was this past year. So I gave my notice on Monday and they weren't thrilled, but my manager - very nice woman, actually, b/c she is human, not like some people ;) - said blankly if you can pull it off - go for it! You only have one life. So yes, it took a while to make this decision but I think it will be a right one on a long-term.

And again, it was so hard b/c my company is so great. But once you get over this, and the fact that Im not married to my job :) the rest is easy.

So... I'll still be working till June 12 or so, and then we're going on honeymoon and after taht - new life starts. Exciting.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next