powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
1:53 p.m., Jan. 11, 2003

The diet must go on... Isn't it funny how lately it's all either about LOTR or my diet. Well, like it or not, that's all me, that little package of me, which is adventure deprived and really bothered that I'm not "perfect."

Ok, so here's how it is. The Metabolism Diet didn't work for me. I tried my best to stick to it, but I realized it's nearly impossible to stick to a pre-arranged meal diet. Maybe for some cooking-savvy people it is, but not me. I did it for three weeks, since my vacation started. I lost 1 pound. It's not worth it, all that cooking and effort. I broke the diet only once - at New Years - but if a person can't occasionally eat what they want what's the use?

My best friend has joined Weight Watchers. She's been on it for a week and lost 2 pounds so far, which is not bad. It's funny because we had a girl talk yesterday, and I asked her how much she weighed, and she didn't want to tell me! I'm like - I'm ur best friend, it's not like I'm going to run around saying Nikka weighs that much..! So she told me. Wow. I certainly suck at estimations. She was 60 (!) pounds more than I thought she was. The number is unreal, and yet to me she totaly doesn't look that big. She's really tall though, like 5.9 or 5.10, so it doesn't look like that much on her! I was amazed. Anyway... She says WW is not bad because she does it all online. (We both have a huge aversion to meetings, "support groups", and other people, who weigh you and play gurus. Plus it's not like I'll have time driving to stupid meetings from school or something). She showed me on her PC what kind of program it was, how she did it and it made complete sense to me. Points and all. The best part, you track it all online, there's a journal, all possible lists of foods with corresponding values. Sure my point range is rather small comparing to hers - but she's bigger and needs more in a first place, so it makes sense. So, I decided to give it a try. Heck, I wasted so much money on LOTR games and stuff, that a very reasonable fee for 3 months was like nothing. So... today's my first WW day. I am still at the goal of losing 20 pounds - so we'll see how it goes. The beauty is - I can eat normal foods, anything I want. Just in moderation. So far, it's going well, I still have "points" left for dinner, and I'm not that hungry. I still exersice. They say if u exersice they'll let u add more points, but to me taht defeats the point of exersice ;) - I would rather for it to work as an additional help to lose the stupid weight.

I realized how badly I need it yesterday.. I was trying that shirt that Mike gave me for New Years, as I was thinking I'll wear it for brunch tomorrow. So I needed a skirt to go with it, and I have this little black skirt which I had when I was at my smallest - and it fit fine then - well, I couldn't even get it over my hips! So I was like.. ok, that's it. I need to get to the point where it fits again. Sure I found another skirt to wear with the shirt, but it's not the point.

Nikka's goal is to lose 70 pounds, ouch. Comparing to that, my 20 should be easy. Though I don't know, will see how my body reacts. But heck, it seems rather reasonable. Besides, since we both on it, it will ease our time together, as far as going out - we'll both have some particular goal in mind and not overeat. Sounds good to me!

I decided not to tell Mike about it. I think ... I guess i'm afraid of failure. If I fail at that, will he have a good laugh :) I mean, he's very supportive, he loves me as I am, and if I lost weight he'd love me too - but just in case of defeat I don't want to be defeated in his eyes. I don't think he'll even notice that Im dieting because I'll be eating same stuff, just less of it. Yeah.

I can't believe my school starts on Monday. It will be weird to go back. But in a way it's cool. Only 6 months more left. Also, about same time left till my brother's wedding. Great incentive to lose!

Otherwise... I'm reading legends and myths of Greeks and Romans. Very cool.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next