powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
8:12 a.m., May. 05, 2003

Got home from TX yesterday. It was fun, though the wedding itself was rather different to what we all were accustomed. Lets just say it wasn't on a formal side, and that groom's side came dressed in checkered shirts and some wore jeans! While all of us, northerners, were in our best finery, suits and dresses, and all. The food was a separate story. Of course we didn't come to this wedding to eat, but still, it's a wedding and you'd expect something - well,at least ur standard salad-chicken-dessert deal. It was a buffet style! At that, there stood a huge bucket of coleslaw, a huge bucket of potato salad, cooked beans (absolutely tasteless btw!), cut pieces of sausages, ham, and a bread roll. That was that. And an open bar. So I hardly could eat anything b/c I hate coleslaw and potato salad, and I cannot eat ham, so pretty much I had a piece of bread and piece of sausage. The DJ was absolutely terrible, no one was dancing, and I don't know, Mike and I were both saying to each other how cool our wedding was - so far, we actually haven't been to a wedding which would match up to ours, and it's not because we were the ones getting married - people STILL come up to us and say how fun our wedding was, how it was totally awesome :) But anwyay, the bride and groom seemed happy and that's what matters! We just felt a bit weirded out by the groom's side - all those tough looking dudes in checkered shirts ;)

And I did get to walk around a bit, and I did see men on teh streets wearing cowboy hats! This was cool and shocking because I kind of thought that the cowboy hat and boots is someting of the past, kind of a cultural reference, a costume that ppl wear when they do some sort of a school play about old west. Nope. Bunch of men walking on the streets wearing big cowboy hats, bunch of women wearing cowboy boots! And I've seen a rodeo! It was pretty cool, actually, man and women on horses, with lassos. Yeah.

Overall, we had a relaxing time, swam in a pool, hanged out with each other, and even though the wedding wasn't what we were accustomed to, it still was fun. The bride was certainly happy and beautiful, and that's what counts the most I suppose.

Now - back to school, the time is certainly going FAST. I have a lot to do and I worry an awful lot - as usual. I got to stop freaking out and do things step by step, no one ever died from graduation, right. I'm sure I'll make it. Meanwhile, o'revouir.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next