powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
7:05 a.m., Apr. 21, 2002

Well, the day is here. I woke up at about 6 a.m., which I suppose is better than not sleeping the whole night ;) We had rehearsal dinner yesterday at this Thai place and got home around midnight. So 6 hours of sleep is fairly decent (I guess). I don't know, it's weird but I don't have any "special" thoughts. Actually my first thought as I woke up was - crap, it's raining! Of course, this whole week was fairly warm, even hot - 85 degrees on Wednesday - but today supposed to be around 38 degrees w rain and possible snow! - in april! So..

Well, we weren't planning to do outside pictures anyway, so I guess everything is fine. Anyway... It wouldn't be entirely true to say that Im not nervous. But it's funny b/c I am not nervous about globality of the event - e.g., commitment, rest of our lives together and all that. No, my worries are more immediate, e.g., will the dress fit, will I trip, will the ceremony go smoothly :) Which, I guess, is silly of me, but somehow I have little doubts about global things - I wouldn't go into this whole marriage thing without thinking that it will work, so why worry in advance?

Besides there is really no one weirder than Mike so it's not like I am stuck with some boring "proper" guy who won't appreciate my little quirks. Like yesterday, I specifically told him it's a dress nice affair, so instead of a usual tie dye wear a shirt. Well I assumed that he knows then to wear some pants other than jeans - for the "nice" affair. Well :) he was the only guy in jeans in the whole party, to his credit he did wear the shirt though. So I got upset for the brief moment and then Nancy, one of his cousins, who actually is in many aspects just like him (and unfortunately lives in a different city, b/c out of all of his family she's really the coolest!) - she came to me and said hey, please don't be upset -for Mike, this is a huge step up, the jeans are not torn or dirty, they are neat and clean and he's wearing a decent shirt :) We wouldn't expect Mike to dress even like that. And tomrrow he'll be all dressed up for you, but today I think it's the closest to "civility" that he can get. And that certainly put things in perspective. After all who cares about clothes, on a big scale?! It's just that we are different in the aspect that I wear my weird clothes when I have privacy or when I can go out and know that I won't ruin anyone's party by dressing insanely, but in a social situations I know to dress "well". For Mike, there is really no distinction between his average life and social situations, that's why he always asks me what to wear when we are going places - but sometimes he still wouldn't follow my advice as what can be better than a tie dye ;)

Anyway, I am rambling. Well, the hairdresser comes at noon, the makeup lady comes at 1, the videographer comes at 2:30 to document the historic moment of putting on the dress, and then limo comes around 3:45 and off we go. I guess the advantage of having a night wedding is that you get to sleep in the morning (not that Im taking advantage of it as it's 7 a.m.! but I am a light sleeper and an early bird all my life). My friend and bridesmaid Stacie is engaged as well now, and is getting married in October. Theirs is going to be 11 a.m. early wedding in the church - so she told me she'll have to be up by 6 a.m. as her makeup and hair ppl are coming bright and early. I wish Stacie and Jay moved back to mj city. They are so cool, I certainly miss Stacie around the office. And actually I do like Jay a lot- he is good for her. Stacie has some physical issues (which I supposed are connected ot emotional issues- she is so thin that she has to battle to keep her weight up the similar way I have to fight to keep mine low). She is a vegan, and has quite a lot issues with eating and while being about 5.8.- 5.9 tall she only weighs 115 pounds- on a "good" day as she says. Any stress in her life - whether emotional or mental - causes her to lose weight. Jay has been very supportive of the whole situation and watches out for her so at least she eats enough food to keep herself going. She said when she was trying on the bridesmaid dress, she went for size 0 and it was big! They had to alter it to fit her! I was like... wow. Not that I ever want that type of problem b/c she told me that if she ever wants kids it's going to be extremely hard because her weight is so low and nutrition and all.

Anyway.. I suppose I should try to go to bed again for another hour or so. I guess I'll write how it all went later!

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next