powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
5:39 p.m., Mar. 05, 2002

Back in school. We're doing quite cool projects in both of my Illustrator and Quark Xpress classes. For Quark, our last project is to make a menu of some restaurant, so I picked this tiny little thai place where, accidentially, we decided to have our rehearsal dinner (to the dismay of "all american food" lovers :) Anyway, their menu is just a little piece of paper with a tiny script - really nothing spectacular. Well the cool part that the menu we're making actually has to be produced physically - so nice paper, binding, u name it. So I think I'll get some sort of oriental fabric for the covers. Anyhow.. Im almost excited about this - now if I only could do those things for living. Again not that I hate my job - but it's a bit way too people-oriented for me. And now, it's like I m sitting alone, designing, and 3 hours just flew by! Sometimes I think Im the biggest freak - I really love being alone. Well, I mean my fiance makes a good compnay, but work-wise, I do the best if no one's around. Oddly as an admin, I deal with every single person in my group - though I know their little quirks inside out, but just the notion is a bit annoying. Oh well - about 6 more months of that and Im starting to look for a better job. I wish my company had an opening for an inside position - I don't think there is a better place to be than where I work, I mean they really are a best company there is. I just wish there was some graphic designer position somewhere, like in BD or whatever. Will see.

Well, K. is interviewing for her HR job today - Im curious how it went. Hope she gets it. I feel a bit evil about the whoel thing - I mean I am rooting for the girl to get rid of her. But working with her is really nothing but annoyance, what can I do -they couldnt have hired two more opposite personalities to work on a team. So.. we'll see tomorrow.

My relatives situation is not resolved. I talked to my uncle and it's the same bs, it's not u it's me - as George said in Seinfield - I invented that routine ;) Anyway.. of course it's not my fault but my parents fault, blah. And Im like.. it's MY wedding. He goes yeah but you are part of your family. Geez. Well, we will see what my cousin says. She is inclined to come, so maybe the reason will win over. I would feel pretty bad if she did not - I saw her kids grow up in front of my eyes, and all in all, while we're not like best buddies, we are on very good terms with her. So it's like our personal relationship has absolutely no meaning to her I guess, over teh "family" thing. I feel like a member of Italian mafia :) Anyway.. I decided not to stress over this, and just accept whatever will happen. She will come to my shower, however, so maybe seeing her in person will make it a bit easier and will make her want to come.

Otherwise... Don't know, just want this stupid wedding to be over already. We have been picking flowers over the weekend - after much arguing and dismay we have agreed on roses, gladioluses, and lilys for the center pieces. Why arguing? I am not just having your average manly man for a fiance, I have Mike :) Which means, he wants to partcipate in every single little decision about teh wedding, and not b/c he's some controlling freak, but b/c he likes every minute of it and wants to be a part of everything. He's excited about every little thing that brings this wedding together, and I suppose I should be happy about it. But I really did not want him to go pick flowers w me, not because it's "girly" - I am above all those stupid stereotypes - but b/c I know his tastes in colors. Mind u, a guy who is a fine arts major (with a full time job of a stock trader!) - cannot go with your normal reds and whites of the wedding. No no, flowers must be yellow and orange and blue! He was arguing like insane how "why should we do traditional stuff, lets go w orange" - picking out some field flowers from the catalogue. Picture orange and yellow flowers at the wedding table, haha. Anyway.. Maybe I am stupid and traditional, but I was dying for some roses, and pinkish and reddish stuff, rather than yellow! So anyway, of course I won:) b/c the flower woman was on my side, and b/c at the end I always do get the final word, but it was tough. He was pleased however with the fact that I let him pick gladioluses as part of our flower arrangements - I love those flowers and I was glad he came up w them. So.. I guess one thing off the list. Now I juts have to make him get his suit and get all his grooms man suits as well. He's pushing it off, obviously.

Anyway... Im rambling here. Hope my other class wont hold us too long.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next