powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
1:14 p.m., Mar. 03, 2002

Weddings can really be devastating. Especially when u have such an insane family as mine - I don't mean parents, of course. But more like - all my relatives - who somehow chose to get in fight w my parents, and so now somehow it all snowballs into me, and so pretty much no one is coming to my wedding. I feel ridiculous and almost embarrassed, as Mike has several uncles, about 8 cousins, and every single one is coming! With the rate evreything's going, I will end up with having not even one single relative at my wedding. Which is, well, quite sad. I suppose I m not that close w them, but still - if teh reverse was true, and one of them was getting married I would come no matter what - I mean, it's only once in a life time (hopefully!). I just don't understand how such stupid little thing as meaningless misunderstanding could snowball so much. I also think it's typical of Russian community in particular, where if someone has a disagreement w someone else - it all passes onto families. So if my mom is in argument w my uncle, that means taht not only he is not coming but also all my cousins from his side. Just by association, even if we all had fairly ok relationship prior. And that did not change and tehy all tell me oh we like u but we can't come b/c of ur parents. Great. Freaking vendettas. So.. Anyway, I guess I shouldn't get myself so upset over it, and yet I am - mostly b/c I see how Mike's family behaves and I just think why are all my relatives so whacky? Also by being brought in the middle of all this I almost feel put down... One of my favorite authors, Victor Pelevin, has this really sad and good story which kind of illustrates my point.. It's here - in Russian though...

http://kulichki-win.rambler.ru/moshkow/PELEWIN/detstvo.txt

Anyway.. I guess I should just somehow get over it. It's just strange that people are like that..

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next