powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
9:50 p.m., Jun. 06, 2002

Wow, I am actually in love with Mike! (I know it sounds whacky but it's true). I feel uncomfortable even as Im writing it - my parents never ever display any affection, either verbally or physically. I never remember neitehr my dad or my mom being particularly "lovey" with each other. That's why I feel very odd even saying that I love him - even saying it to him directly, and even writing it here! (lots of "evens") ;)

But, as I said before, sometimes it hits me more than other times, and today was one of those more days. It all started with a tree! - yes a tree. We have a tree growing outside of our apartment, which, accidentally, is right by our balcony, and since we are living on a higher floor, its top literally is right across the balcony, many birds, squirrills and other little animals live there. Oreilla, my cat, looks wistfully through teh glass at that tree - so many things to chase ;)

Well, today we were woken up by a loud noise, which was like a mower. So looking outside, we saw that this dude was mowing grass around the tree. And so Mike flipped b/c he said most likely they are planning to take the tree down. Which would SUCK! We live close to a train station, and all around us is pretty urban settings, lots of new construction/developments. So if the tree is taken down suddenly we are bare to all the urbanity of the place.. the tree is like a little piece of nature. And Mike and nature is a whole separate story.......

So he calls our village's "historical society" - I never knew such thing existed!. Talks to them for 10 minutes, trying to figure out if our tree is oldest tree in our neighborhood b/c if it is, than we have something to protest against cutting it off. Well, they bounced him from one phone# to another, until he got hold of someone who, I guess, was responsible for trees in our village. And turned out that they aren't going to cut the tree (phew!) but only plant around it and make it even prettier ;) I don't know.. there's something just so great about a guy who cares about a tree. Who cares enough to make a difference.

Then I went to school, and one of my classes, I had to cut bristol board, which normally I do OK (Mike taught me , actually, how to do it) - but as my luck had it, I managed to cut of a big piece of skin off my finger :) No, Im still typing, so that's good news ;) So, Im bleeding, paper towels all around my finger, and I just feel like crap. So I call him, and since his work day was over, he just comes to my school with bunch of tape and cotton and alcohol (all sepaarte b/c we don't have bandages.. shame on me, first aid, and we dont have it!). Well by the time he got there bleeding stopped anyway, but I appreciated the care! And then we just went out (had 1.5 hours break b/n classes) and went to a little mini hill outside the building area and laid there in the sun. It was bliss!

He is just the best!!! It's those little things that make my life so great - and the best thing is that we both do things for each other because we want to! Anyway.. it's silly to feel so happy over something small like that but hey that's life - little things...

Ok going to drink coffee. Yeah.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next