powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
7:54 a.m., Aug. 27, 2002

So I got an e-mail from my cool friend Stacie. She's doing well, started a brand new job. I'm very happy for her, she's finally going for her MBA, and just landed a part-time job within the school department. W.E. helped her out with that! (We used to work together with her as partners, it was the best time.. after her, K. started, and it never was the same). He actually also helped her out with getting to school - she needed lots of recommendations to get there on a short notice, and he came through. I certainly hope he'll give me a reference when it comes to me getting a job.

So anyway, she's doing well, and getting ready for her wedding - which is going to be suddenly very soon, in mid-october. I'm so excited for her - her fiance is really good to her, and helps her a lot, including her eating disorder. She's a babe! It always amazes me how life turns out - I do believe that there's this universal harmony where you meet right people at the right time, and the whole strings of your life just come together. For instance, if I wasn't working for Dow Chemical, I wouldn't figure out that I love graphic design, so wouldn't have gone to school, and wouldn't changed my career. If I stayed in Dow Chemical, however, I would burn out emotionally (this job was a hell job, I understand it now, but at the time it seemed normal). And the only reason I didn't stay at Dow is because they simply let the whole department go, just completely closed it. So I had no choice but to seek another job at another company - where I met Mike - we met at work, after all! - and where I met Stacie and W.E. The job was less interesting, but the good people there compensated. And I think there's nothing more satisfying out of a job than meeting your husband, and making friends with most remarkable people. So I do marvel at how things work in the world. Btw, Stacie did invite W.E. and his gf to her wedding, so I'll have someone to sit with- I obviously don't know any other of her friends, or his friends, so it would be a bit lonely otherwise.

Tonight, Nikka and I are going for dinner at our favorite diner - where the food is cheap and good. I normally try not to go out during the week, save $ and also watch weight, but I'm leaving to see D.G. and D. on Thursday, so I won't see her over the weekend. Anyway, Mike and I worked out this eating system based on one of our friend's, R.'s, diet. He invented that diet by himself. Basically, you eat whatever you want, but not more than 1000 calories a day during the week. So if you want to eat a burger it's your choice, but then u have less calories for later. During weekend, you eat whatever you want, so you don't feel stifled by the diet - but you're concious of what you're eating. So, Mike and i have been trying it together - it's still a mystery to me why is he doing it - he's really skinny, perhaps not very pumped, but certainly not fat! He said that comparing how skinny he was, he's really not anymore, but I can't even imagine how he was then. But anyway, we really started eating healthier - more salads, more "real food", less sweets. So I suppose it's good. So for today, I'm distributing my calories in a way that I can eat that dinner and not feel bad a bit. :-)

So... I suppose my life is ok for now. My mom and I are speaking again. Although she never apologized, she kind of just started a conversation as if nothing ever happened. And i figured - ok, perhaps she learnt her lesson? She hasn't called me fat for a week - so I suppose, it's good!

I'm wishing for something major in my life though. It's stupid to complain, I got it all! - but I need some sort of thrill! I suppose the trip will do it ;) - seeing D. and all. Btw I don't know if I'll be able to update from there, probably so, because D. is a computer geek, so I'm sure he has Internet running at home 24/7. The cat is going to my parents, the dog is going to Randy's. That's all I have to say for today.

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next