powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
6:57 a.m., Jul. 29, 2002

Another weekend passed, and I am in school once again. If nothing else, it was extremely tiring!

I am still not resolved on the whole sleep issue. If anyone reads it, please give me ideas, because I feel more and more sleep deprived and I don't know what to do about it. Basically, I am an extremely light sleeper. Anything can wake me up in a second. And, therefore, I depend on Mike largely how well will I sleep. Because I see no point in settling and trying to fall asleep if Mike is not in bed already - otherwise, he will be walking around, getting into bed, playing with our pets, reading - all of which does not help me sleep at all! So what ends up happening, I conciously don't go to sleep before he actually settles, which normally doesn't happen before 11:30 lately. And then even after he's in bed, he has to read for about 10 minutes, because it's the only way he can fall asleep. He reads with this bright light on. Great ! So I get frustrated and I don't know what to do about it. I mean, we're in this bed together so he has a right to go to sleep whenever he wants :) but at the same token, I simply cannot fall asleep unless it's completely dark and completely quiet. And if I make a comment he goes all defensive and says he'll sleep on the couch in the living room. Well, that's not my idea of marital bliss, u know. :) So I told him no way, you're sleeping here, in the normal bed. But I feel like a zombie most of the time - I think we really got to cut on entertainment and go to bed earlier. But it's just not happening lately. And we don't even have kids! And Im already sleep deprived :) So.. don't know what to do about that.

On another subject.. we went to animation festival on saturday night, which started at midnight (yeah so much for sleep :) But it was worth it - it was so much fun! Just really short animation pieces, some of which were pretty hillarious. And we went to the argentenian restaurant beforehand, which was also OK, though not spectacular. But just for the heck of having something original, I never had argentinian cousine before. So that was fun!

Yesterday though was another matter - we went to this BBQ to his cousin, so once again, the whole "family" thing. Mike told me stories about how she's the worst hostess in the universe, but I never actually been to a party at her house... and sadly, he was right!

Picture this: we come at 3 p.m., fairly hungry (because u know, who eats before the BBQ) - and here's what she serves for appetizer: potato chips with no dip (personally I don't eat potato chips at all, but no dip part bothered Mike and his sister a lot ;). That's it. And as far as drinks - only wine coolers. No real wine, no even soda - which is again, no big deal to me b/c I drink water anyway.. so I just got myself a glass of water and that was that.

So an hour passes, two, three. NO FOOD! This chick, who is actually pretty cool and works for one of the biggest advertising companies in the US (and happens to be distantly related to Mike) - was absolutely starving, and was kind of going around in circles, asking me whether I knew if or when the food would be served. I actually had the same question :) Finally Mike fetched me some green olives (my favorite olives! ;) - so I had couple of those.

Finally, at about 6 p.m. they started to set the table. Her husband went around asking people HOW MANY burgers they wanted. So, basically, you couldn't just come and grab food, it was actually accounted for! Plus, the only thing that they grilled was chicken burgers! No variety, no hot dogs, or even beef burgers. One pack of chicken burgers, and that was it. There was no tomatoes or onions, or any other side things to put on your burger. Only ketchup :) And there was only cooked green beans for side dish. That's it :) And dessert - watermelon and - laugh! - Hershey kisses, the worst chocolate on the planet.

So ok, I am not the best cook in the world either. But I would never starve my guests for 3 hours, and then serve them 1 burger each :) (because no one admittedly would say they want two, in fear to seem gluttonous or whatever ;) Anyway.. it's a big joke in Mike's family, the way his cousin hosts parties, and I guess there's true to it. So basically we left semi-hungry, and by the time we got home I didn't even want to eat - was pretty late. I guess on a big scale it's good - we didn't overeat. But it was just strange to have such a bad party.

But at least I got to go to their basement and just sit by their PC and play around the Internet instead of having to listen to stuff about houses, children, and their boring boring lives. Not that my life is that exciting either! but several hours w people with whom u have nothing in common can tire you a lot.

Anyway.. got to go to class. This was a long rant!

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next