powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
9:48 p.m., Jul. 03, 2002

One good thing about having so much time on my hands is that I can actually update my diary more frequently :)

Well, today was definetely great, because we finally moved my piano from my parents house to ours. Somehow Mike was hesitant to do it (again, the whole "chore" thing :) but I nagged and nagged, and finally it happened!

I mean, he doesn't understand how important it is for me to have a piano. I've been playing since the tender age of 5 - and all the growing up years, my parents trained me to be a musician with the full intention that I'll become a professional at this field one day. That did not happen, but I cannot imagine my life without a piano. It's my relaxer, it's my breath of fresh air. The thing is, while I don't play sheet music anymore (I mean I can, but it's so much work that I feel awfully lazy to actually take time and learn ) - I play mostly by ear. And to brag a bit - I got what's called a "perfect pitch" - which means, when I hear anything I also hear exactly the notes that are being played. Therefore, it's pretty easy for me to play anything I hear, and so I am capable of playing just about any song, any musical piece that I want, within a reason (e.g., I cannot play rap, where there's really no music but rhythm and words). Understandingly, this quality really does bring ppl's attention to me - as most of modern "hits" really consist of 5-6 chords, to reconstruct which takes no time at all :) And they they go wow how did you do it. What's weird about perfect pitch is that I really cannot imagine how do other people (musucians) operate. I mean, I know that hardly all famous composers had perfect pitch, most did not. It is so strange to me, why doesn't everyone actually hear notes, hear the structure of music. I was always pretty lame at music theory though, because it has almost a mathematical base - such and such combinations will bring such and such results. Which is probably necessary for people who do not hear sounds "as they are", so they have to calculate what to do to get a certain effect. But I always felt, well why do I have to know that in this pitch you use those tones, I know exactly note-to-note what's being played. Anyway.. I definetely would make one bad composer though :) b/c to be a composer you have to know music theory perfectly.

But this never stopped me from improvising constantly, and of course playing whatever I hear. So when I finally got my piano today I played pretty much all day. Mike was mesmerized btw. Maybe (I hope!) he did realize that I needed that piano and that his efforts weren't in vain. Especially when I played his favorite Smashing Pumpkins song :)

So... I am feeling pretty good at the moment. Hope neighbors don't go crazy though.. the walls here are pretty thin.

Anyway.. going to sleep. Happy Independence day !

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next