powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
12:12 p.m., Jul. 07, 2002

My prolonged vacation is coming to an end, but I feel relaxed and happy - and ready for school :)

Yesterday we had a wonderful day.. went to visit my religious friends, finally Mike met them.. and it went just fine. I was so worried that they'll clash on religious matters, because Mike is a self-proclaimed atheist, and is very sceptical about god. But both parties wisely decided not to touch on religion too much, so it was all peaceful, gefilte fish and cholent :) They really liked it, and the girl even said that we "look alike". I was like.. yeah, I always dreamt to marry a male version of myself ;)

Then, after leaving their house, we sat for an hour in a park nearby, just relaxed, and watched many jewish little religious kids running around. This neighborhood is pretty orthodox, and during Sabbath day, kids were positively everywhere, nice weather, and all. Then we left to the city (as it was pretty close from their neighborhood), intending to see a play. But we had tons of time, so as we were roaming the streets, we saw some little nice restaurant called Bistro Margot - which sounded so awfully French, we just had to go there. It indeed was French, and we had some pate and wine and cosmopolitan. And chocolate mousse with strawberry sauce. You'd think after lunch we wouldn't be hungry anymore, but the truth is, I was so nervous about the whole ordeal (i.e., whether religious friends will be ok with him and vice-versa), that I couldn't touch much on my plate. So I felt pretty hungry after we left :) Highly unlikely for me.

The play was sold out, but they had a theatre guide right there, so we ended up going to a different theatre and seeing a different play - a tribute to Edit Piaf! Two-people play, very character-driven. The voices could be better, but the overall performance was still remarkable. The athmosphere was truly magical, and at some point it didn't feel like a play but more like we were in some bar, listening to french songs.

It was a good day. I'm so lucky I have him. (knocks on the wood once again).

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next