powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
6:12 a.m., Dec. 18, 2003

What can i say about ROTK? It was much anticipated, and we went to the midnight showing and it was fun!!!!

But I wouldn't agree with critics and everyone sho says that ROTK is better than Two Towers. I still think Two Towers remain my favorite. Mainly because I think they had to put so much into the final part, that it kind of lost its momentum, too many things were happening simultaneously, too many cuts from one scene to another, and as a result it was like a big mish-mush, which didn't give a chance to kind of bond with anyone. Yet with all that, I do think that actors were great, this time all the hobbits got quite good parts, especially Sean Astin. I also enjoyed Gandalf a lot. However, my main disappointment with ROTK is that there wasn't really much of King- Aragorn. While in TTT he becomes a prominent figure, here he really isn't doing much and considering that the movie is called Return of the King I'd rather see him becoming a king. They totally could cut out Denothur burning himself and Faramir scene. And then also, there wasn't any mention of Faramir getting together with Eowyn. So it looks weird - last scene with Eowyn, Aragorn basically says don't hope for anything from me. So I'd be reasonably upset if a guy whom i had a crush at would tell me this. Then after many other events we see Aragorn's coronation, and they show Eowyn happily leaning on Faramir -and if I didn't read the book and didn't know they'd end up together I'd be like - huh? So yeah, too much stuff, too hectic. But still - a good movie, and still deserves an Oscar.

So that's my inofficial critique. :)

So sad, it's over though....

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next