powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
9:51 a.m., Aug. 20, 2003

Well, our lives are getting normalized though I�m not sure if that�s the right word. I guess financially it�s getting normalized. Mentally � not so much. I am most like having second interview with a cool company on Friday. He said he still has to get back to me on the time but asked to keep my afternoon for Friday open. So that�s good. I also have an interview tomorrow � also a lead from my school. The job sounds nice but it�s only 30 hours a week though they do give benefits. I�ll have to find out if it has a chance of eventually going into 40, not that I care that much about $$ at this point � just want to get the goddamn health. But they did say they will offer full benefit package for 30/hrs which is nice. So we�ll see. I go through spells of total despair to spells of optimism. Some days I feel like oh my god, I�ll never get a job, and some days I feel like yeah I�ll get it. It�s tough to interview though, it�s just so goddamn tiring. To constantly smile, be enthusiastic, answer all stupid questions� it�s not easy! But I guess I got to get myself into winning mind set and get it! I really want the cool company job of course � but as I found out from bitter experience even the best interviewing skills won�t guarantee you the job in this crazy job market that we have right now. By all means, the competition is so huge that they can pick anyone they want and for less $, which is disturbing. But I got to keep my head up and try. I applied for a dozen other jobs yesterday, found on the web, and newspaper and u name it. Something got to work!

At least Mike is happy. He�s finalized his postal employment and is now happily working. They pay well, and even though it�s not a benefit position � he was told that within 1.5 years after hire he should be considered for one. He wants to ride it out, work in this role until a permanent position with benefits opens. The good news is, since he scored 100% on his postal test he automatically got in front of many people and currently has only 4 people in front of him for the permanent position. Within next year, he was told, 3 people are going to retire, so after that it won�t be long. He still is doing trading, so ideally he wants to swing both post office and trading and make us $$ and all that good stuff. It�s puzzling to me how can he like post office job but he totally loves it! He said after stock market this is the job he has most aptitude of doing and there�s nothing better than being basically your own boss, working on your own, and being outside for part of the day. So, as Nikka put it, I�ve married Newman!!! ;)))) If you control the mail � you control *information* � yeah. So yeah, with me making some decent money now even though my job is stupid, and him making good $ as well, we are back into safety financially, but I feel unsatisfied with what I do and we still have to buy our benefits� Just hope for the best, just keep on trying I guess.

Otherwise � we may get away for Labor day weekend, he works on Saturday but will get off around 3, so we�ll take a ride someplace natury and nice and stay there for 2 days. I certainly need a break!!!

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next