powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current archive contact homepage diaryland - get your own diary
...jottings...
9:07 a.m., Apr. 17, 2003

First seder went really nicely, of course Nikka is a master of cooking, what's truth is truth. She made all kinds of cool foods - like fritatta and a really funky fruit salad. Very nice. Of course I'm afraid I ate too much, plus 4 glasses of wine I'm sure didn't do my diet good, but that's one of the obligations of passover - drinking 4 glasses of wine. And tonight it will be repeated again, this time at my place. I cooked most of it yesterday, egg salad and soup, meat and avocado salad... Was sooo tired. Cooking is very laborous and hardly rewarding job imho. Of course ppl will enjoy it tonight but then it will be gone, and think, hours of slave work for couple of minutes of enjoyment.... not worth it! Luckily I only have to do this couple times a year.

My mother keeps on saying "when u have a child u got to start to cook". Yeah, like all of a sudden I'll make gourmet meals when I have a baby - I barely can do it now when I actually have time. Plus, if anything, a kid would be less demanding than an adult and as a rule kids prefer simpler foods. So I think I'll do just fine. It's funny how my mother is just dying for me to become "normal" (in her opinion). The fact is, even when I do cook and it turns out good, it doesn't automatically mean that I enjoy it because i am a woman. That pisses me off so much, that approach, that as a woman you have to love certain chores, because it should be "natural." No, not natural at all. I pretty much hate it all - washing dishes, cleaning, cooking, I have no clue how to saw, garden, scrape book, you name it! And I'm fine with it. Because I know how to play piano, write stories, play guitar, design all kinds of cool stuff on my computer, and many other funky skills that I actually value. Cleaning and washing dishes... it's a necessary evil but it's not my life. Yeah.

I guess I am so defensive about this subject because of Nikka's dad. Now, this guy is an epithome of "sexist." Partially, I believe it's his wife's fault - she waits on him hand and foot. Nikka lives with them, and she has a youngest sister, so pretty much he's the only man in the house. So it's like, he's sitting at the table demanding dinner. He has never been to the kitchen in his life. He has never washed a dish. Never cleaned. Nothing. It's a "woman's job." So yesterday he goes well, tomorrow Miri we'll go to your place and check out your cooking. You see, I knew you'd come around, it's only natural for a woman to cook. I was so mad. I said to him I'm doing it for my guests sake, not because it's "natural." I really can't argue with him too much - thankfully, he's not my dad, and u know, I don't want to get into a tense situation with him, seeing that he's my best friend's dad. But man, he's such an asshole. I can write volumes about the way he treats his wife and daughters - the worst part is, he doesn't see it as bad or inappropriate. They are women, u know, lower class. Only a man's opinion counts. He openly told Mike that he has no need to help cleaning up because here, Nikka and Miri would do it (that wasn't yesterday, some other occasion). I'm proud to say he chose the wrong man to lecture, because Mike looked at him straight and said I always help Miri, it's a matter of respect. The guy didn't know what to say back, so he just shut up. Yeah, my sweetie. It's funny, but in all honesty, Mike does majority of chores in our place. Not because I'm so mean, I do try to split it fair, but I'm in school a lot and he works from home, so somehow he ends up cleaning and stuff throughout the day. Besides he knows not to expect much from me :) He always tells me he didn't marry me to get a maid. Yeah! That's my boy.

Anyway... this turned out to be long and feminist :) Just I don't know, every time I see Nikka's household I thank my lucky stars for having a dad who would totally help my mom with everything, and having the same husband. I constantly tell Nikka that she's better not end up with someone like her dad. Not that it's a real danger, unlike her mom, Nikka is extremely tough. Tough as nails. She tolerates her dad only because of her mom, and sometiems she does tell him off, but u know, u can't teach an old dog new tricks. But they do say that ppl have tendency to marry their "parents", in my case it's probably true, Mike does remind me of my dad in many ways. So I slightly worry for Nikka, but her views on this whole thing are same as mine, so I know she'll make a right choice.

Well, got to go work out. Maybe counter the effects of Passover dinner :)

layout byapplegail designs

previous - next